Books and More Books

not enough hours in the day

Unusual Bookmarks

No, I didn’t find a diamond ring in a returned book at the library, but someone else did!  Can you imagine waking up one morning and not being able to remember where you put your ring?  How embarrassing.

Checking in books for hours at time must be mind numbing work.  I’ve never worked in that part of a library, but I would think finding the occasional “bookmark” made the job more interesting.  I’m sure the people I worked with at the library found their fair share of unusual items left in books. 

But others have found all sorts of unusual items presumably used as bookmarks:  a strip of bacon, a condom (unused!), an 1879 marriage certificate, a golf scorecard signed by Sandy Koufax and Don Drysdale, and even a $100 bill.

Check out this article to discover what other items have been left behind in books!

October 25, 2008 Posted by | Books | , | Leave a comment