Books and More Books

not enough hours in the day

Luncheon of the Boating Party by Susan Vreeland

I don’t know all that much about art, so when I find a book that captures my imagination while it teaches me something, well, that’s heaven!

I can’t tell you how many times I referred to the cover while reading this book.  You see, the author cleverly tells the story of Pierre-August Renoir through this particular painting, Luncheon of the Boating Party.

All of the people in this painting are friends or acquaintances of Renoir including one woman whom he later marries. 

I love the idea that artists are compelled to do what they do at all costs.  They do it for the love of it, not to make themselves famous, to make a bunch of money, or do live a comfortable life.  Renoir sold a few of his paintings while living, but like most artists, became better known long after his death.

This is a very engaging, easy-to-read book and when all is said and done, you’ll know a fair amount about not only France, but Impressionism as well.  This is an A- book.

August 26, 2008 - Posted by | Books | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment