Books and More Books

not enough hours in the day

The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch

I should have purchased this book to help the author’s family, but I checked it out from my local library and read it in one sitting.

I’m not much for this type of book, but I’ll make an exception here.  Randy tries hard to keep the reader from feeling sorry for him and I loved his approach to life.

As a child he made a list of things he wanted to accomplish in life like experience zero gravity, play for the NFL, be a Disney Imagineer, etc. and he set about finding ways to make his dreams come true.  I never had a list as a child and haven’t had much of one as an adult.  Now what is worse: making a list and not being able to fulfill it, or never having a list in the first place?

I took an early retirement, too early some might say, so now I’m back in the job market.  One gem I garnered from this book is that the brick walls in your life aren’t there to keep you out, they are there to show how much you want something.  I’m going to try hard to remember that as I go about looking for employment.

Read this book, not once but a couple of times, and absorb what you can from a man who clearly had much more life to live than what was afforded him.  I wish him peace and his family fond memories.  This is an A book.

August 17, 2008 - Posted by | Books, Nonfiction | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

