Books and More Books

not enough hours in the day

Desperate Passage by Ethan Rarick

Who hasn’t been fascinated by the Donner Party and what they endured?  When I was working as a children’s  librarian, I remember the school kids wanting to devour (pun intended) every book we had on the subject.  I guess as adults we are still enthralled by adversity and how others overcome it.

Once I started reading this book, I simply could not put it down.  The same held true for my husband.  These were flawed people in that they didn’t trust their own instincts enough and relied too heavily on the advice of strangers without questioning the purpose of such advice.  I’m an amateur genealogist and many of my ancestors did what the Donner Party did, i.e., they moved around searching for a better life for themselves and their families.

This book contains heroism, tragedy, triumph over adversity, and even a villain in case the nightmare winter isn’t enough to keep you up at night reading.  It is truly amazing any of them survived at all.  This book gets a hearty A+!

August 17, 2008 - Posted by | Books, Nonfiction | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks so much for reading Desperate Passage, and I’m glad you enjoyed it!

    Comment by Ethan Rarick | August 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

